Officially known as The Commonwealth of The Bahamas, this paradise travel destination consists of nearly 700 islands, of which around 30 are inhabited. Top things to do here include enjoying upscale resorts, sunbathing and water sports. Find out more ahead of your trip as follows:
  • The capital of The Bahamas is Nassau, a vibrant sea port city known for its wide range of resorts, entertainment options and stunning beaches. Nassau is located on New Providence island.
  • Other popular islands here include Grand Bahama Island, known for its underwater caves, Andros Island, with 5 national parks, and Harbour Island, which boasts flashy-coloured cottages and pink sands.
  • The chief airport here is Lynden Pindling International Airport (IATA 3-letter code: NAS). This is located 16 kilometres (9.9 mi) west of Nassau. Another popular option to arrive at The Bahamas is by cruise ship.
  • The Bahamas’ time zone is Eastern Standard Time (GMT-5). This is 5 hours behind London, UK (GMT), on the same time as New York, USA (GMT-5), and 10.5 hours behind New Delhi India (GMT+5:30).
  • The local currency here is the Bahamian dollar (3-letter code: BSD). This currency is pegged to the US dollar at par, which makes it easy to calculate your spending while you’re visiting.
Learn more in our handy articles below, and have a great trip!